Wizarduniverse.com Infected?

November 20, 2007 by Chris Mosby · Leave a Comment
Filed under: From the Blogverse, Tech Stuff 

This definitely looks suspicious, its trying to load a javascript from 208.122.2.22 which resolves out to http://voxel.net/
a media hosting company.

This is exactly why i use Firefox withNoScript, to protect myself from stuff like this. I submitted the info
to the guys at the Internet Storm Center, they will figure out what is
up. I would be careful going there, or just skip it all together, there isn’t anything worth reading anyway.

Blog@Newsarama » Wizard website is viral. In the wrong way.

Wizard website is viral. In the wrong way.

Tuesday November 20, 2007, 12:15 pm

Admit it; you’ve always thought that Wizard was bad for comics. But did you know that it’s bad for your computer, as well?

“AVG detects a virus everytime I go to the Wizard site today. Just giving a heads up to those who haven’t visited the site yet.”

“I too just got an error from mine. Virus detected on Wizarduniverse.com”

“The site said I needed a chinese language pack for some reason when I was on there earlier today.”

“It may not be a virus, perhaps the site is coded ina away it
ehibits ‘virus like’ activity that triggers your AV proggy. Similar to
the way steam from a shower could trigger older model smoke detectors.”

“Could be, but they need to fix that, who really wants to go there
and take the chance? Besides I’ve been there before and it never
triggered it, shouldn’t it do it everytime? Not just every now and then
for a week or so?”

“I got something on my home pc last weekend, My AV picked it up. The
only site I looked at, beyond here and the BBC News website, was
Wizard’s…”

Consider this a warning.

Powered by ScribeFire.

Get Adobe Flash playerPlugin by wpburn.com wordpress themes